The Forth Valley Magic Circle was formed in 1978. The early meetings were held in Woodlands High School, Falkirk. The Circle later moved to Grahamstone United, Boys Club, Thornhill Road, Falkirk. The original members included: Eric McDonald, Jim Wilson and Michael Breck. In later years members included : Hugh Gilles, Peter Hynds, Val LeVall, Nick Richmond, Shirley Ray.

Nick Richmond joined the club in 1993. He became Secretary in 1995 and served as secretary until 1999 when Nick returned to England. He was presented with a Life Membership for services to the club. During his time with the club Nick introduced an updated Constitution, a new Logo, Membership badges and a formalised programme of events. The club have designed two club badges. The first one designed by Erik McDonald. The second was by Nick Richmond.

The club and members have won some of the competitions organised by the prestigious Scottish Association of Magical Societies. These national competitions take place every year.

Anne Warlock Cup (Best act in the close-up)
Stuart Clarkson 1993
Elliot Bibby 2015

Stuart Leith Shield (Runner up in close-up)
Elliot Bibby 2016
Elliot Bibby 2017
Sean Harrington 2018

The John Ramsay Rose Bowl (Best magic effect in the close-up)
Elliot Bibby 2016
Sean Harrington 2018

Harold McMillan Shield (Best stage act)
Shirley Ray 1993
Peter Kinney 2011
Elliot Bibby 2017

Fletcher Cup (Runner up in stage)
Elliot Bibby 2013

Max Raskin Cup (Best act in children’s magic)
Peter Kinney 2009

The Murray Wand (Most showmanship at the convention)
Shirley Ray 1992
Elliot Bibby 2018

Sir Alexander Cannon Trophy (Scottish Club Scoring the highest points)
Forth Valley Magic Circle 1987

Presidents of SAMS
Eric McDonald, Hugh Gillies, Elliot Bibby


Eric McDonald, Nick Richmond, Abracadabra

Our thanks to Jim Cuthbert and Nick Richmond for providing us with this information